Tel: 031 577 7868 -                             

Which are the 4 sacred months?

Q: I would like to know which are the 4 sacred months also known as Ashurul Hurum?

A: The 4 sacred months are: Rajab, Zul Qa'dah, Zul Hijjah and Muharram.

The Quran says: The number of months in the sight of Allah is twelve (in a year), so ordained by Him the day He created the heavens and the earth; from among them four are sacred. (Surah Taubah)

Hazrat Abu Bakrah (Radiyallahu Anhu) narrates that Rasulullah (ﷺ) said: “…The year consists of twelve months, four of which are sacred. Three from them are consecutive: Zul Qa’dah, Zul Hijjah and Muharram. And (the fourth sacred month) is Rajab…” (Bukhari #4662 and Muslim #1679)

And Allah Knows Best.
Darul Ihsan Fatwa Department

Login to post comments



  • Mahr Fatimi: R17343.74
  • Minimum Mahr: R346.87
  • Zakaah Nisaab: R6937.49
  • Fidya: R20.00

Contact Us

70 Joyce Road
Tel: 031 577 786 8

Social Media



Visit for official COVID-19 information.