28 January 2022   24. Jumad-us-Thaani 1443

Tel: 031 577 7868 - disc@darulihsan.com                             

Fatwa - Bovine gelatine

Q: Is Bovine gelatine permissible for consumption?

 

A:

Gelatine acquired from Halaal animals that have been slaughtered in the Halaal manner is indeed Halaal.

As for the gelatine derived from Halaal animals that have not been slaughtered according to Islamic rites, there is a difference of opinion among Ulama with regards to whether it is Halaal or not.

This difference is primarily based on two issues

1. Whether the gelatine derived from the hide of an animal becomes halaal after the hide is tanned or not. 

2. Whether gelatine has been completely transformed from its original state and has satisfied the Sharia requirements of such transformation or not.

Based on these differences, it is best to abstain from such gelatine.  However one should not impose one’s view on others in light of the difference of opinion.

 Shafique Jakhura (Mufti) and M.D. Mangera (Mufti)

 

Login to post comments

Nisab

25/01/2021

  • Mahr Fatimi: R19 621.27
  • Minimum Mahr: R392.42
  • Zakaah Nisaab: R7 848.50
  • Fidya: R20.00

Contact Us

70 Joyce Road
Durban
Tel: 031 577 786 8
disc@darulihsan.com

Social Media

               

 

COVID-19
Visit sacoronavirus.co.za for official COVID-19 information.