Tel: 031 577 7868 - disc@darulihsan.com                             

Gelatin from Halal Animals

Gelatin from Halal AnimalsQ: I wanted to know if gelatin from Halal animals is permissible to eat.


A: Haamidaw wa Musalliyaa

Gelatin acquired from Halal animals that have been slaughtered in the Halal manner is indeed Halal. As for the gelatin derived from Halal animals that have not been slaughtered according to Islamic rites, there is a difference of opinion among Ulama with regards to whether it is Halal or not.

In view of this difference, it is best to abstain from such gelatin.

And Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Shafiq Jakhura (Mufti)
Fatwa Dept.

Login to post comments

Nisab

03/10/2021

  • Mahr Fatimi: R17343.74
  • Minimum Mahr: R346.87
  • Zakaah Nisaab: R6937.49
  • Fidya: R20.00

Contact Us

70 Joyce Road
Durban
Tel: 031 577 786 8
disc@darulihsan.com

Social Media

               

 

COVID-19
Visit sacoronavirus.co.za for official COVID-19 information.